Driving Tests in Colorado

From this article find out how to get a new CO driver’s license, replace your out-of-state license and requirements for international drivers in the state of Colorado.

Under Colorado DMV guidelines, you must be at least 16 years of old to apply for a Colorado Minor Drivers License. Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.

First Time Drivers: These steps are to be followed if you’re a applying for first time driver’s license. For this you will need to apply for a Colorado driver’s education or driver’s awareness permit which requires a written exam on *Traffic signs, *Motor vehicle laws, & *Safe driving techniques. Once you receive a valid driver’s education or driver’s awareness permit, to receive a CO minor driver’s license, you will then need to pass a *Road skills test, & *Vision test. Applicants under 18 must have held a learners permit for 12 months and must present a certificate of completion for the required 50 hours of supervised driving time before taking the road skills test. Then a 6-hour Behind the Wheel (BTW) certificate is required, for any minor. Also who is under the age of 16 old & 6 months at the time can apply for their license.

New CO Residents: New residents with an out-of-state license must obtain a Colorado driver’s license by applying for residence in Colorado. Where else a resident is defined as a citizen who has lived in Colorado for 90 continuous days; or upon becoming employed, whichever occurs first. When heading to the DMV, be sure to bring the license from your former state as you will be required to surrender it in order to obtain your new license.

For new CO residents, there is no written exam or road skills testing required to change a valid out-of-state license to a CO driver’s license, but you will need to pass the vision test. If your license is expired more than one year, then both the written and driving tests are required and also additional identification may be required if the license is not presented.

International Drivers: Colorado very much honors a valid foreign driver’s license with an international driving permit. After becoming a resident of the State, you’ll be required to convert to a Colorado license and pass the written exam and road skills test.

Full service application: For going to a full-service driver’s license office. There are plenty of limited service offices so make sure you head to the right place. *Carry all the proper identification papers, including a document with your Social Security number. *Possess a current DOT medical certificate. *Pass with 80{1fc9255f709716ff2a33289826fd726eed7cedf5137bb7feefe22a1bfbde604a} or higher on all the required written tests for the class and endorsements for which you are applying *Pass the CDL driver tests. *Be ready to relinquish your regular Colorado driver license along with the CDL temporary permit. *Pay $35 as license fee. A permit fee is $14. *Finally, have your photo taken, sign it, and fingerprint the license.

New Federal Requirements: You must self-certify your type of vehicle operation with the Colorado DMV by January 2014. This means you must self-certify one of the following driving categories:

*Non-Excepted Interstate. *Excepted Interstate. *Non-Excepted Intrastate. *Excepted Intrastate. If you choose Non-Excepted Interstate, you must provide the DMV with a federal medical certificate.

Type of licenses categories:

Each & every state issues licenses in these categories: Class A: Any combination of vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating (GWVR) of 26,001 or more pounds, provided the GVWR of the vehicle being towed is in excess of 10,000 pounds. Class B: Any single vehicle with a GVWR of 26,001 or more pounds, or any such vehicle towing a vehicle not in excess of 10,000 pounds GVWR. Class C: Any single vehicle or combination of vehicles, that does not meet the definition of Class A or Class B, but is either designed to transport 16 or more passengers, including the driver, or is placarded for hazardous materials. Many states make exceptions for *Farm vehicles, *Snow removal vehicles, *Fire &emergency vehicles, and *Some military vehicles. Colorado’s Identification Requirements: On the Road, once your licensing requirements have been met, your Minor Driver’s License will be valid until 20 days after your 21st birthday. The Basic Driver’s License i.e. adult of age 21 and older will be valid for 5 years. Remember… the safe operation of a vehicle requires practiced skill, knowledge, and a respectful understanding of the limitations imposed by the other drivers and the environment.